
Expert network · Expert queue (Scale AI)
Outlier (Scale AI)
About Outlier (Scale AI)
Outlier is the Scale-AI-backed contributor platform spanning generalist writing to PhD specialties. After Meta took a 49% stake in Scale ($14.3B, mid-2025) and major labs (Google, OpenAI) paused work, Outlier cut generalist volume and shifted toward niche, technical, and expert projects. It absorbed Remotasks as Scale's visual/multimodal contributor brand. Breadth is narrower than it was; pay skews to specialist tasks.
Advertised maximums, live
, AITraining.jobs lists 5 open Outlier (Scale AI) roles; they state only advertised maximums, most at or below $31 an hour.
Live Outlier (Scale AI) roles
Updated 10 hrs ago- up to $31/hr
Android AI Evaluator - Korean (opens the job details)
Multilingual · Remote· 1mo agoDetails
up to $31/hrAndroid AI Evaluator - Spanish (Mexico) (opens the job details)
Multilingual · Remote· 1mo agoDetails
up to $8/hr
Similar roles you can apply to now
The same kind of work on other platforms.

Japanese Language Expert (opens the job details)
micro1 · Multilingual · Remote· 4w agoDetails
$20–$36/hr
$45–$80/hr
Japanese Language Expert (opens the job details)
SuperAnnotate (SME) · Multilingual · Remote· 1mo agoDetails
up to $40/hr
We may earn a referral fee when you join through these links. It never changes your pay.
Android AI Evaluator - French (opens the job details)
Multilingual · Remote· 1mo agoDetails
up to $25/hrAI Evaluator – English (opens the job details)
AI Evaluation · Remote· 2mo agoDetails
up to $18/hr
Some links on AITraining.jobs are referral links. If you sign up through one, AITraining.jobs may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes what a platform pays you.
Outlier (Scale AI) jobs by country
Its open roles that accept applicants in each country.
Get new Outlier (Scale AI) roles by email
We check the Outlier (Scale AI) job board daily and email you its newest roles each week, plus similar paid roles elsewhere. Free, unsubscribe anytime.
Is Outlier (Scale AI) legit?
Researched October 2026 · 15 sourcesYes. Outlier is Scale AI's real contributor platform and pays weekly through PayPal, Airtm or ACH, but accounts and projects can be cut without notice and some workers report recent work going unpaid. Your account or project can be deactivated without a stated reason, sometimes with recent hours unpaid and appeals answered by template, and its terms let it withhold pay during an investigation. It pays up to ~$31/hr in advertised ceilings (actual per-project pay is not published).
Actively listing 5 open roles todayOutlier is run by Scale AI through its affiliate Smart Ecosystem Inc., which does business as Outlier AI. Meta paid $14.3 billion for 49% of Scale in June 2025, valuing it at about $29 billion, and founder Alexandr Wang left for Meta; Francis deSouza became CEO on 10 August 2026. Outlier says it has paid out more than $600 million to 900,000+ experts in 52 countries.
Outlier pays every Tuesday for work done the previous Tuesday to Monday (midnight UTC), by PayPal, Airtm or ACH bank transfer, and shows each project's rate before you start. You work as an independent contractor, and its terms let it delay pay during an investigation or withhold it for a violation.
Trustpilot 4.1/5 (5,505 reviews). Read October 2026.
5 open roles on Outlier (Scale AI), independently checked 18 Oct 2026.
Global remote; English projects dominate, with multilingual projects.
No Outlier-specific impersonation cases turned up. Outlier is operated by Scale AI, you sign in and see opportunities at app.outlier.ai, it pays only by PayPal, Airtm or ACH, and sign-up questions go to onboarding@outlier.ai. The FTC warns that unexpected job texts on WhatsApp or Telegram, or any request to pay to get a job, are scams.
What people praise
What people complain about
- Accounts are deactivated or banned with no specific reason, sometimes within minutes of signing up, and appeals get template replies.
- Some say they were removed from a project after 20+ hours, or a week of tasks, and were not paid for that work.
- Qualification tests can be unpaid; one reviewer described an unpaid 3-hour test with no follow-up afterward.
- Automated checks, such as phone verification limits and AI interviews, lock people out with no human review, and support is described as scripted.
What has gone wrong
- December 2024. A class action filed on 10 December 2024, McKinney v. Scale AI, says contributors were misclassified as contractors. A $12.5 million settlement for people who worked for Scale, Smart Ecosystem or through HireArt while living in California (December 2020 to February 2026) has a final approval hearing on 30 October 2026; the defendants deny violating any laws.
- January 2025. On 17 January 2025 six Outlier workers sued Scale in federal court, saying they had to write prompts about violence and abuse without proper psychological support. Scale said it has safeguards, including opting out at any time, and would defend itself. A separate January 2025 suit said one contributor's pay worked out below California's minimum wage.
- July 2025. After Meta's June 2025 investment, several of Scale's largest data customers cut ties with it. In July 2025 Scale laid off about 200 staff, around 14%, and ended work with 500 contractors, saying it had scaled its data labeling business too quickly.
Best for: Degree holders and specialists (coding, STEM, languages) who want flexible, weekly-paid task work and can absorb sudden deactivations and gaps between projects. Not for: Anyone who needs steady income or a human appeal process, anyone without at least an associate degree, and anyone in a country under US export restrictions, such as Iran or Cuba.
Honest catches
- Pay here is platform-stated, not measured live from a job feed, so treat it as a benchmark rather than a guaranteed rate.
Sources for this review
- Outlier: Terms of Use (revised March 13, 2026)
- Outlier: About us
- Outlier: FAQ
- Outlier: Community Guidelines
- Scale AI: Scale AI announces next phase of company's evolution (June 12, 2025)
- Reuters via Hargreaves Lansdown: Meta poaches Scale AI CEO after taking multibillion-dollar stake (June 13, 2025)
- Reuters via The Star: Scale AI taps former Google Cloud executive as CEO (July 31, 2026)
- TechCrunch: Scale AI lays off 14% of staff, largely in data-labeling business (July 16, 2025)
- TechCrunch: Scale AI hit by its second employee wage lawsuit in less than a month (January 9, 2025)
- TechCrunch: Scale AI is facing a third worker lawsuit in about a month (January 22, 2025)
- King & Siegel LLP: Scale AI pays $12.5 million over misclassification claims
- McKinney v. Scale AI settlement website
- Trustpilot: Outlier reviews
- Trustpilot: Outlier 1-star reviews
- FTC Consumer Alert: That job offer text is probably a scam (April 30, 2026)
What Outlier (Scale AI) pays
Platform-stated · as of 2026-07-25Researched rate card, platform-stated, as of 2026-07-25
Approved tasking rate is shown before each project. Outlier cites $15/hr starting up to ~$50/hr; third-party reviews report generalist RLHF ~$18–$28/hr, coding/expert $35–$60/hr, advanced specialties up to ~$100/hr.
| Role | Kind of work | Researched pay |
|---|---|---|
| Advanced specialist (PhD, legal, medical) | Domain Experts | $50–$100/hr |
| Coding / SWE expert | Coding | $30–$60/hr |
| Domain expert (STEM, humanities) | Math & STEM | $18–$35/hr |
| Generalist contributor | AI Evaluation | $15–$28/hr |
The work Outlier (Scale AI) hires for
Each links to what the work involves, who hires for it, and what it pays across the market.
New to this? Start with the learning guides or compare pay across every platform.
How to get started on Outlier (Scale AI)
Researched August 2026Create an account and profile at app.outlier.ai, complete skill screenings and ID verification during onboarding, pass an unpaid per-project qualification assessment, then start earning on tasks once a project matches you.
Who can join
- At least an associate degree; some projects require a bachelor's, master's, or PhD depending on complexity and specialization
- Be of legal working age and legally authorized to work in your country of residence (your visa must permit work; no visa sponsorship offered)
- A valid government ID and a mobile phone from your country of residence (used for identity verification)
- A current resume highlighting your expertise and a LinkedIn profile showing your education and work history
- Strong English communication and attention to detail are expected in practice (most projects run in English), though Outlier's FAQ does not state a formal English-proficiency bar
- A computer with reliable internet (independent-contractor remote work; you choose your own hours). Note: Outlier's FAQ does not publish specific hardware requirements
Step by step
- 1
- 2
Build your profile and select your expertise
Complete your profile with your resume and LinkedIn, and select the areas of expertise (domains, languages, coding, etc.) you can genuinely demonstrate. Outlier reviews resumes against the minimum requirements for specific domains.
- 3
Complete skill screenings
Finish the skill screenings so Outlier can match you to the right projects. Select only tracks that match your real background; inflated claims fail later subject screenings.
- 4
Verify your identity
Complete identity verification using a valid ID and a mobile phone from your country of residence.
- 5
Qualify for a project (the assessment)
Once matched to a project, review its guidelines and complete its qualification assessment (unpaid test tasks). Pass it to unlock paid tasking.
- 6
Start tasking and earning
After you pass, you begin contributing to deliverable tasks. You always see the tasking rate before starting a project.
Skill screenings + per-project qualification assessment
Outlier onboarding includes 'skill screenings' to match you to projects, and each project has its own qualification assessment (unpaid test tasks) you must pass before you get paid work. A typical assessment has you compare and rank AI model responses, then justify your judgment in writing against a provided rubric. It is graded pass/fail, usually with no explanation of why you failed.
Format
Unpaid work sample that typically takes 30-90 minutes, done online after you review the project guidelines. Common task types: comparing two AI responses, ranking outputs, and writing a specific justification for your rating using the project's rubric. Specialized projects (coding, math, a specific language or domain) add subject-specific screening.
How to prepare
- Read the project guidelines and rubric fully before starting, and reread the rubric before each answer. The instructions contain details designed to catch careless readers.
- Judge by the stated rubric, not your personal preference.
- Write detailed, evidence-specific justifications. 'Better because more accurate' fails. Point to the exact part of the response and say why.
- Budget more time than the 30-90 minute estimate. The time estimate is a floor, not a race, and applicants who pass consistently report taking longer.
- Do the assessment yourself. Do not paste answers from ChatGPT or another AI. AI-flavored answers are a common fail reason.
- Only select expertise tracks you can genuinely demonstrate. Claiming expertise you cannot back up leads to failure on the subject screening.
- Make sure your profile, resume, and LinkedIn are complete and accurate before you reach the assessment; an incomplete profile is a listed rejection reason.
Why people get rejected
- Rushing through the instructions and treating it as a speed quiz instead of a careful work sample
- Generic, low-detail justifications (e.g. 'Response A is better because it's more accurate') instead of specific evidence-based reasoning
- Using AI tools to generate answers
- Claiming a track you cannot back up on the subject-specific screening
- Skimming instructions that were designed not to be skimmed
- Incomplete profile or skills that do not match current project needs
- No fault of your own: limited project availability in your region or high competition (you can retry other projects)
General onboarding takes about 30-90 minutes (per Outlier's FAQ). Outlier does not publish an approval or project-matching timeline. Independent 2026 worker reviews describe waiting anywhere from a few days to a couple of weeks after onboarding before a generalist project and tasks appear, with roughly 14-18 days commonly cited to a first paycheck. Once you pass a project's assessment, paid tasks can start right away. Treat these ranges as directional worker reports, not an Outlier commitment.
Payments are processed weekly on Tuesdays, covering work completed the previous Tuesday through Monday (midnight UTC). Payout methods are PayPal, Airtm, and ACH bank transfer. Rates vary by expertise, project complexity, and location, and you always see the tasking rate before starting a project.
Tips to get accepted
- Complete every profile field and keep your resume and LinkedIn accurate and detailed. An incomplete profile is an explicitly listed rejection reason.
- On the assessment, reread the rubric before each answer and judge against it, not your gut. Write specific, evidence-based justifications instead of generic 'this one is better' statements.
- Take longer than the time estimate. People who pass consistently spend more time than the 30-90 minute guidance because thoroughness is rewarded over speed.
- Never use ChatGPT or another AI to generate your assessment answers. The assessment exists to measure your human judgment, and AI-generated responses are a common fail cause.
- Only select expertise tracks you can prove. Claiming coding or specialist domains you cannot demonstrate leads to failure on the subject-specific screening.
- If your queue stays empty or you fail one project, do not assume you are banned. Outlier runs separate assessments per project on an ongoing basis, so try qualifying for other projects.
What isn't public
- Outlier does not publicly disclose how the qualification assessment is scored or the passing threshold, and it gives little to no feedback on why an application or assessment was rejected. The 'what the assessment tests' details come from credible third-party worker guides, not Outlier's own docs.
- Outlier's FAQ does not state an approval or first-task timeline. The 'few days to several weeks' and '~2 weeks / 14-18 days' figures are worker reports and independent reviews, not committed SLAs.
- Outlier's FAQ does not publish an English-proficiency bar or specific computer/hardware requirements; those are practical expectations inferred from the work, not stated eligibility rules.
- Whether specific projects are available in your country/region and language is not published in advance and changes constantly, so eligibility to sign up differs from eligibility to actually get paid work.
- The exact degree/credential bar per project is decided project-by-project and is not listed publicly.
- An empty task queue after onboarding is a widely reported experience with no clear official signal distinguishing 'rejected' from 'no project available yet'. The reassurance that an empty queue is not a ban is corroborated by worker communities, not by Outlier's own documentation.
Sources (5)
- Outlier official FAQ (eligibility, onboarding steps, assessment, payment)
- Outlier opportunities / sign-up
- Laptop and Coffee: Outlier AI Assessment (what it tests, why people fail, tips)
- RemoteBridge AI: Outlier AI Jobs Review (apply steps, rejection reasons)
- Indeed: Outlier AI hiring process Q&A (unpaid testing, asynchronous assessment)
Frequently asked questions
Is Outlier (Scale AI) legit?
Yes. Outlier is Scale AI's real contributor platform and pays weekly through PayPal, Airtm or ACH, but accounts and projects can be cut without notice and some workers report recent work going unpaid. Your account or project can be deactivated without a stated reason, sometimes with recent hours unpaid and appeals answered by template, and its terms let it withhold pay during an investigation.
Is Outlier (Scale AI) a scam?
No. Outlier (Scale AI) is a real company. No Outlier-specific impersonation cases turned up. Outlier is operated by Scale AI, you sign in and see opportunities at app.outlier.ai, it pays only by PayPal, Airtm or ACH, and sign-up questions go to onboarding@outlier.ai. The FTC warns that unexpected job texts on WhatsApp or Telegram, or any request to pay to get a job, are scams.
Does Outlier (Scale AI) pay?
Yes. Legitimate and well-funded; weekly payments praised when accounts are in good standing. Reviews are heavily bimodal (queue and account issues), and 2026 brought contractor cuts and reduced generalist volume after Scale's Meta deal, so task availability is less dependable than it was. Payouts: Weekly (Tuesdays) via PayPal, Airtm or ACH bank transfer. Payments are processed weekly on Tuesdays, covering work completed the previous Tuesday through Monday (midnight UTC). Payout methods are PayPal, Airtm, and ACH bank transfer. Rates vary by expertise, project complexity, and location, and you always see the tasking rate before starting a project.
How much does Outlier (Scale AI) pay?
Outlier (Scale AI) publishes only advertised maximums, most at or below $31/hr, so what a contributor actually earns is set per project and is not published. Researched benchmark: $15–$50/hr; specialists to ~$100/hr. Approved tasking rate is shown before each project. Outlier cites $15/hr starting up to ~$50/hr; third-party reviews report generalist RLHF ~$18–$28/hr, coding/expert $35–$60/hr, advanced specialties up to ~$100/hr.
Is Outlier (Scale AI) worth it?
Outlier (Scale AI) pays up to ~$31/hr in advertised ceilings (actual per-project pay is not published). It rewards credentialed experts who clear its assessment far more than open generalist work. Worker sentiment: Trustpilot 4.1/5 (5,505 reviews).
How does Outlier (Scale AI) pay out?
Weekly (Tuesdays) via PayPal, Airtm or ACH bank transfer.
Where can you work for Outlier (Scale AI)?
Global remote; English projects dominate, with multilingual projects.
How do I actually get accepted on Outlier?
Sign up at app.outlier.ai, complete your profile with a real resume and LinkedIn, finish the skill screenings, verify your identity, then pass the unpaid qualification assessment for a specific project. Acceptance is per-project, not a single blanket approval.
What is the Outlier assessment and how do I pass it?
It is an unpaid work sample (about 30-90 min) where you compare and rank AI responses and justify your ratings against a rubric. Pass by following the rubric exactly, writing specific evidence-based justifications, taking your time, and doing it yourself without AI tools.
Why did Outlier reject me or leave my queue empty?
Documented rejection reasons include an incomplete profile, low assessment scores, and limited project availability. Outlier rarely gives feedback. An empty queue frequently means no matching project right now rather than a permanent ban, though Outlier does not officially confirm this, so you can try other projects.
How long until I get my first paid task?
Onboarding is 30-90 minutes, but Outlier publishes no approval or matching timeline. Independent worker reviews describe a few days to a couple of weeks before generalist work appears, and often around 14-18 days to a first paycheck. Once you pass a project assessment, paid tasks can start immediately.
Do I need a degree to work on Outlier?
You need at least an associate degree, and some projects require a bachelor's, master's, or PhD depending on the specialization. You must also be legally authorized to work in your country and pass ID verification.
Sites like Outlier (Scale AI)
The platforms that hire for the same work as Outlier (Scale AI): which of them have roles open today, what they pay and who can join.
See every Outlier (Scale AI) alternativeOutlier (Scale AI) compared, head to head
Deciding between two platforms? These break down pay, ease of entry, and live roles side by side.
Compare Outlier (Scale AI) with
Premium, invite-only RLHF and expert data for frontier labs.
$18–$140/hr general; medical & finance experts $250–$500/hrThird-party reportsNVIDIA Inception expert-data startup pairing PhD, MD and JD experts with AI labs.
$35-250/hrPlatform-statedShort of experts at Outlier (Scale AI)? See how we source them from the market's data.